Message to Fans Schedule Tickets Host Community Host Venue Accommodations Scout Package
BCHL History Smart Hockey Mission Statement Future Players League Office Team Information BCHL Links BCHL Cares Careers
League Stats:
 » Standings
 » League Leaders
 » Special Teams
 » Player Streaks
 » Attendance
 » Player Search
Team Stats:
 » Alberni Valley
 » Chilliwack
 » Coquitlam
 » Cowichan Valley
 » Langley
 » Merritt
 » Nanaimo
 » Penticton
 » Powell River
 » Prince George
 » Salmon Arm
 » Surrey
 » Trail
 » Vernon
 » Victoria
 » Wenatchee
 » West Kelowna
BCHL Scoreboard League Schedule Broadcast Information BCHL on TSN Radio
News & Features Commitments Transactions Discipline Photo Gallery BCHL Video BCHL Blog Roll
About Current Issue Subscriptions Advertising
Scouts Media
BCHL Trophies Fred Page Cup Western Canada Cup RBC Royal Bank Cup
University and College  Information and Resources BCHL/Vancouver Canuck  Alumni Scholarships College Commitments BCHL Graduates Smart Hockey Video Education Directors Education Links

The Western Canada Cup

Starting in 2013, the four Western CJHL leagues (BCHL, AJHL, SJHL and MJHL) began competing for the Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup (WCC). The WCC replaced the Doyle Cup (BCHL champion versus  AJHL champion) and the Anavet Cup (SJHL champion versus MJHL champion).

The WCC a five-team event with the host team plus the winners of each of the four leagues. The top-two teams from the WCC advance to the RBC Cup national championship.

Year Location BCHL Representative(s) Result
2016 Estevan, SK    
2015 Fort McMurray, AB Penticton Vees Vees won WCC
2014 Dauphin, MB Coquitlam Express 4th place
2013 Nanaimo, BC Surrey Eagles, Nanaimo Clippers Eagles Won WCC



The Penticton Vees were the winners of the last Doyle Cup in 2012 with a 4-1 series victory over the Brooks Bandits.
With the creation of the Western Canada Cup - which involves the winners of all four Western Junior A leagues plus the host team - the Doyle Cup is no longer played for as of 2013.


The Doyle Cup was donated by Penticton businessman Pete Doyle and his family in 1985 and is presented to the winner of the Best-of-7 series between the BCHL and AJHL playoff champions. Since the Cup was introduced the BCHL has won 16 of 25 championships. Vernon (BCHL) has won the most titles with SIX, followed by the Camrose Kodiaks (AJHL) with four. Penticton and Surrey are the only other B.C. teams to have won multiple Doyle Cups.
From 1968 to 1984 there were 15 B.C./Alberta Championships as the event was not contested in 1970 or 1979. The BCHL won six titles, the AJHL captured eight championships and the Richmond Sockeyes of the PCJHL won in 1977. Penticton was the only B.C. team to win multiple BC/Alberta Championships.
The Winner of the Doyle Cup advances to the RBC Cup, Canada's National Junior A Hockey Championship, as the representative for the Pacific Region.
2012 Penticton Vees Won 4-1 over Brooks Bandits
2011 Vernon Vipers Won 4-3 over Spruce Grove Saints


Vernon Vipers Won 4-3 over Spruce Grove Saints  


Vernon Vipers Won 4-0 over Grand Prairie Storm
2008 Penticton Vees Lost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2007 Nanaimo Clippers Lost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2006 Burnaby Express Won 4-2 over Fort McMurray Oil Barons
2005 Surrey Eagles Lost 4-1 to Camrose Kodiaks
2004 Nanaimo Clippers Won 4-1 over Grand Prairie Storm
2003 Vernon Vipers Lost 4-2 to Camrose Kodiaks
2002 Chilliwack Chiefs Won 4-2 over Drayton Valley Thunder
2001 Victoria Salsa Lost 4-2 to Camrose Kodiaks
2000 Chilliwack Chiefs Lost 4-1 to Fort McMurray Oil Barons
1999 Vernon Vipers Won 4-1 over Calgary Canucks

South Surrey Eagles

Won 4-2 over St. Albert Saints
1997 South Surrey Eagles Won 4-1 over Fort McMurray Oil Barons
1996 Vernon Vipers Won 4-3 over St. Albert Saints
1995 Chilliwack Chiefs Lost 4-3 to Calgary Canucks
1994 Kelowna Spartans Lost 4-2 to Olds Grizzlies
1993 Kelowna Spartans Won 4-1 over Olds Grizzlies
1992 Vernon Lakers Won 4-3 over Olds Grizzlies
1991 Vernon Lakers Won 4-1 over Calgary Royals
1990 New Westminster Royals Won 4-0 over Calgary Canucks
1989 Vernon Lakers Won 4-2 over Red Deer Rustlers
1988 Vernon Lakers Lost 4-0 to Calgary Canucks

Richmond Sockeyes

Won 4-3 over Red Deer Rustlers
1986 Penticton Knights Won 4-1 over Calgary Canucks
1985 Penticton Knights Won 4-1 over Red Deer Rustlers
1984 Langley Eagles Won 4-2 over Fort Saskatchewan Traders
1983 Abbotsford Flyers Won 4-0 over Calgary Canucks
1982 Penticton Knights Lost 4-3 to St. Albert Saints
1981 Penticton Knights Lost 4-1 to St. Albert Saints
1980 Penticton Knights Lost 4-0 to Red Deer Rustlers
1979 N/A N/A
1978 Merritt Centennials Won 4-2 over Calgary Canucks
1977 Richmond Sockeyes Won over Calgary Canucks
1976 Richmond Sockeyes Lost 4-1 to Spruce Grove Mets
1975 Bellingham Blazers Lost 4-2 to Spruce Grove Mets
1974 Kelowna Buckaroos Won 4-1 over Red Deer Rustlers
1973 Penticton Broncos Won 4-1 over Calgary Canucks
1972 Vernon Essos Lost 4-2 to Red Deer Rustlers
1971 Penticton Broncos Lost 4-3 to Red Deer Rustlers
1970 N/A N/A
1969 Victoria Cougars Lost 4-2 to Lethbridge Sugar Kings
1968 Penticton Broncos Won 4-1 over Edmonton Western
Who is the fastest skater in the BCHL?
  Brendan Harris, Wenatchee
  Jordan Sandhu, Alberni Valley
  Justin Fregona, Langley
  Dixon Bowen, Penticton
  Ross Heidt, Salmon Arm
  Matt Hudie, Cowichan Valley
Darren Hards (SUR) 7
Spencer Hewson (NAN) 6
Kylar Hope (WK) 6
Linden Hora (CHI) 6
Liam Finlay (VER) 5
Darius Davidson (SUR) 4
Ayden MacDonald (CV) 3
Brayden Gelsinger (VIC) 3
Bo Pellah (VER) 3
Ryan Forbes (MER) 3


Hosting, Registration & Administration Tools By:
Sports Administration & Management, Online Registration, Stores, Professional Websites for Amateur Sports Teams, Leagues, Tournaments & Associations